Advanced Announcement Settings

When sending an Announcement, step 3 of the Announcement creation process covers some advanced settings that you may have some questions about.  Fear no more, you have arrived at the document that should help explain any questions you may have in regards to these advanced settings. Let us dig into each.

Conversation Status

Screen_Shot_2019-11-07_at_3.55.54_PM.png

When sending an Announcement, a new Conversation is created and added to a Contact’s history within your chosen Department.  It is now up to you to choose what to do with this Conversation. The default setting is to leave the new Conversation open so that your Agents can be aware of it and handle it as they please.  However, when sending large Announcements, this can crowd out your inbox, so you can also choose to resolve any of these newly created Conversations. When Conversations are resolved by this setting, you’ll see a “Resolved by Announcement Settings” notice in the Conversation History.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-05_at_3.36.58_PM.png

An important note is that this setting only affects Conversations opened as a result of an Announcement.  If you send an Announcement to a Contact that already has an open Conversation, then this setting will not affect the status of that Conversation.

Conversation Assignment

Screen_Shot_2019-11-07_at_3.56.02_PM.png

The second advanced setting revolves around the Assignment of Conversations.  When sending an Announcement you can now choose to assign any associated Conversations to an Agent.  This applies to Conversations created by the Announcement AND Conversations that were open when the Announcement was sent.  This setting allows Agents to take over and manage the Conversations of the Announcement recipients.

Announcement Replies

Screen_Shot_2019-11-07_at_3.56.13_PM.png

The final setting gives Agents control over replies to Announcements.  With SMS messaging, there is no way to know if a message from a Contact is a reply to one message or another.  As a result, this a setting that allows you to consider all incoming messages in a set timeframe from a Contact after you sent an Announcement as a reply.  This setting is where you define that timeframe. When you define the timeframe, you can start tracking replies and unsubscribes using Announcement Stats. You can read more on those here.

This setting also revolves around assigning a Conversation when a contact replies. If a Contact replies within the set timeframe, an Agent can choose to assign the created Conversation or reassign the existing Conversation to a specific agent.

For the field, please enter whole numbers only.  Using decimals will not allow you to send your Announcement (the send button will stay gray).