HIPAA Contact Consent

If your organization currently has the HIPAA add-on, then you will notice that any Contact you try to reach will first have to respond to an automated message asking for their consent to be contacted by anyone in your organization over SMS.  This is a core feature for our HIPAA addition as it is a requirement that any organization that handles protected health information (PHI) and would like to text them gain the patient’s explicit consent before sending messages. Without this, you cannot, legally, exchange text messages with a patient.  If your organization does not currently have the HIPAA addon and would like to learn more, head to Textline.com/security/hipaa for more information on the addon and how to get it for your org.

HIPAA Contact Consent is a feature that cannot be turned off as it is a requirement of being HIPAA compliant. Here are the details about this key feature

Requesting Consent

When an agent tries to message a Contact for the first time, they will not be allowed to type anything into the message bar, instead, they will see a button that the agent can click to request consent.

request.png

When an agent requests consent OR a contact messages in for the first time, the Contact Consent feature will automatically send the contact the following message:

 

Org Name complies with HIPAA and wants to exchange text messages with you. Text messaging may not be fully secure. To consent, reply YES.

 

In the above example, the letters in bold, Org Name, will be replaced with the name of your organization as setup here.  The Contact can reply Yes or No only.  Any other reply will cause the consent message to fire again.  If the Contact replies Yes they will get:

 

Great! You will now be able to message with Org Name. Reply STOP any time to remove consent and stop messages.

 

If the Contact replies with No, they will get:

 

You will not be contacted by Org Name. Please message us again if you change your mind

 

Only if the Contact replies Yes will you be able to send messages, surveys, or announcements to the Contact.  Not responding, responding with any other word, or responding No will mean the Contact remains unreachable.

If a Contact has replied No, you will not be able to request consent from this Contact again, ever.  They will need to text you on their own to initiate the Contact Consent feature.

declined.png

Consent Status

You can always check the consent status for a Contact by looking at their info in the sidebar or in the Address Book.  The consent status will state whether they have, have not, or not responded to the Contact Consent feature. It will also give the date and time consent was or was not given.

consent.png